Our history

Quinta da Fonte do Milho was founded by the matriarch Maria Lebres Elias in 1933, and continues to belong to the family until today. The farm went from generation to generation, but the initial objective was always maintained, to produce wines and olive oils of excellence and with tradition.

For many years the Quinta was dedicated only to the production of grapes to be sold to large houses for the production of generous wine, thus limiting production to the expenses and needs of the Quinta.

In the generation of José Gonzalez Rocha, son-in-law of matriarch Maria Lebres Elias, the first investments began either in the renovation and mechanization of the vineyards, as well as in the construction of a warehouse for winemaking.

In the 3rd generation of the family, investments are directed to the tourism area.

Located in the oldest Demarcated Region in the World, in the Alto Douro Wine Region, Quinta da Fonte do Milho belongs to one of the most famous wine villages in the Douro - Provesende.

Currently with about 10 hectares of vineyards and olive groves, it is recognized for its unique terroir and microclimate, combined with typical Douro varieties, which contribute decisively to the typicality and differentiation of our products.

The Touriga Nacional, Touriga Franca and Tinta Roriz varieties stand out in red wines, while in white wines Malvasia Fina, Viosinho and Arinto stand out.

The olive tree is a Mediterranean reference, it is a tree with biblical connotations and that objectively identifies the cuisine and traditions of the Mediterranean.

We produce one of the healthiest and most versatile fats in the world, for a rich and balanced diet.